Daniel Johnston Chicago 2017 Vinyl LP

- Liquid error (sections/template--product.liquid line 181): Computation results to '-Infinity'%
  • $22.00
Type: Vinyl

Release Date: January 31, 2020

Daniel Johnston – Chicago 2017 is the final album from the renowned Austin, TX songwriting genius.  

In what became his last extended US tour, Daniel performed in several cities with different backing bands. His Chicago performance was with Jeff Tweedy, Spencer Tweedy, James Elkington, Darin Gray and Liam Kazar. Chicago 2017 includes new arrangements of 14 Johnston standards (plus one Beatles cover), nine performed live at The Vic Theatre, and five pulled from the previous day’s session at Wilco’s Chicago studio, The Loft.

Daniel Johnston (1961-2019) emerged onto the alternative “lo-fi” music scene in the mid 1980’s distributing a series of homemade music cassettes with his own original songs and artwork. Eventually recording full albums, Daniel gained a worldwide cult following – influencing numerous musicians and songwriters along the way.  Famously battling mental illness throughout his life, which only added to the unique nature of his artistic output, Daniel populated the music world with his special talents for more than 25 years.

Daniel Johnston Chicago 2017 was recorded and mixed by Tom Schick at The Loft in Chicago, IL; Mastered by Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering in Portland, ME; and released on dBpm Records in Chicago, IL. 

Side A
1. The Story Of An Artist
2. Like a Monkey In A Zoo
3. Casper The Friendly Ghost
4. Hey Joet
5. Worried Shoes
6. Cold Hard World
7. Crazy Love

Side B
8. Girl Of My Dreams
9. Walking The Cow
10. Funeral Home
11. I’m So Tired
12. Speeding Motorcycle
13. True Love Will Find You In The End / Spirit World Rising / Funeral Home